St Peter's, Edensor

The current building of St Peter's replaced an ancient church dating from the 12th century. Very little remains of the Norman church, for in 1867 the Duke of Devonshire called in architect Sir Gilbert Scott to design a completely new church in Early English style, with two aisles, a clerestoried nave, and south porch in 15th century style. The westernmost arch in the nave has a Saxon capital on the south side and a repaired Norman capital on the north. It is fascinating to see the contrast in styles and stonework. Scott retained stonework in the pillars and arches, but the best surviving feature of the earlier church is the superb memorial in the chapel erected by Bess of Hardwick to her 2 sons, Henry and William Cavendish. William (d. 1626) was the 1st Earl of Devonshire and is shown in a shroud with his face revealed. Henry, who died in 1616, is depicted as a skeleton on a soldier's straw mat.  The original village of Edensor was located immediately next to Chatsworth House, but between 1838 and 1842 the 6th Duke of Devonshire had it moved out of sight over a hill. The planning of the new village and parish church was overseen by Joseph Paxton. St Peter's Church was rebuilt and expanded between 1867 and 1870 to the designs of the architect Sir George Gilbert Scott for the 7th Duke of Devonshire. It comprises a west steeple, nave with aisles, chancel, north vestry and south east chapel. Post Code: DE45 1PH