St Catherine’s, Hoarwithy

Hoarwithy church was originally a chapel built in 1840 and when Prebendary William Poole was appointed vicar of the parish in 1854 he wanted to “beautify the chapel”. The result was the impressive Italianate Romanesque and Byzantine building designed by J.P.Seddon.  The white marble altar is inlaid with lapis lazuli, the central cross being of tiger’s eye. The five stained glass windows in the Apse are a memorial to Prebendary Poole. They were designed by Seddon, made by H.G. Murray of London and installed by John Gunter. As Poole admired the colours of the windows in the North transept of Hereford Cathedral the design was made with these colours in mind.  Over the altar there is a wonderful mosaic of Christ in Glory and the hanging lamps are lit at Christmas. The four central pillars supporting the ceiling of the domed apse is of French and Cornish marble and rest on solid bases of porphyry.The church has an "imposing campanile" (bell tower) of four storeys, with an open arcaded ground floor. A gem in rural Herefordshire with fine views from the top churchyard of the church and countryside.  Seasoned oak was used for the sculptured choir stalls which represent saints of the region, including St David carved by Harry Hems of Exeter, who also carved the prayer desk depicting scenes in the life of St Dubricius.  The replacement of the organ revealed a mosaic of a peacock, previously hidden since the 1920s.    Post Code: HR2 6QH ​